Alabama Government

The Alabama government is responsible for the state’s public policy and laws. The government is divided into three branches: the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The Alabama Constitution establishes these branches and provides for their powers and duties.

alabama government

The executive branch of Alabama’s government is headed by the governor. The governor is responsible for carrying out the laws of the state and for overseeing the operations of state agencies. The governor is also Alabama’s chief executive officer and commander-in-chief of the state’s military forces.

The Alabama Legislature is the state’s lawmaking body. The Legislature is composed of two chambers: the Senate and the House of Representatives. Alabama senators serve four-year terms, while representatives serve two-year terms. The Legislature meets annually in Alabama’s capital, Montgomery.

The Alabama judicial branch is responsible for interpreting the state’s laws and ensuring that justice is carried out. The Alabama Supreme Court is the state’s highest court. Other courts in Alabama include circuit courts, district courts, and probate courts.

Government of Alabama State

Official Name: Alabama
Governor: Kay Ivey
Contact: Contact Alabama
Main Address: 600 Dexter Ave.
Montgomery, AL, 36104

Phone Number: 1-334-242-7100

Alabama State Agencies

Attorney General

Consumer Protection Offices

Corrections Department

Education Department

Emergency Management Agency

Election Office

Motor Vehicle Offices

Surplus Property Sales

Travel and Tourism

Social Services